Is Facebook.in a scam?

I use AirTel as my ISP. Sometimes, I forget to add the domain suffix and prefix and just simply enter the name of the website. The AirTel DNS is intelligent and redirects me to the required website.

But something unusual happened today. I keyed in “facebook” in the address bar of my Opera browser and hit enter. I was redirected to facebook.in. At first, I didn’t notice anything strange and didn’t even look at the URL in the address bar. I simply put in my username and password and proceeded to login. But the login took forever.

I refreshed the page and this time I noticed something different. The username and password fields did not have their usual yellow borders, which show that you have the credentials stored in the Opera Wand password manager. This time I decided to look at the address bar and saw that I was on http://www.facebook.in and not on facebook.com

I did a quick whois for the domain. The information seemed pretty fake to me but the server it points to seems to be a legit facebook server. It shows up results when you search for friends but everything else on the website is broken. The results also seem to have been fetched from Facebook as the original Facebook uses “s.php” for fetching results whereas facebook.in uses “srch.php“.

So, I am not sure if this is a fake website or a legit one which is yet to be launched. As a precaution, I logged into Facebook and changed my password. I’ve emailed Facebook, lets see what they have to say about this. This intelligent feature of my ISP turned out to be a big security risk for me!


Some other posts that might interest you :

  1. Permanently delete your Facebook account : Yesterday, I set out to do something which I had thought would be particularly easy. When Facebook had not opened up to the world, I had tried to register with them. Now, I do not remember how that attempt went but recently I started getting loads of emails from Facebook on the email address I [...]...
  2. Facebook headed for Indian shores! : Yesterday, I voiced my concern regarding the website facebook.in which appeared a little suspicious to me. I contacted the folks over at Facebook and got a response from them today. Here’s what they had to say : Hi Rahul, We appreciate your concern. “http://www.facebook.in” is a secure Facebook login page. Please let us know if you have [...]...
  3. Migrate/move your WordPress blog to a new domain/server : Well since I just finished migrating this blog over to this new domain, I thought I’d just describe how I actually did it. Firstly, login to your existing blog, Goto Settings, Permalinks and activate the default permalink structure. I recommend doing this because I’ve been locked out a dozen times while updating my blog [...]...
  4. Good sense prevails, Facebook reverts to earlier ToS : I was seriously thinking of doing away with my Facebook account after I read about the latest update to the Terms of Service on Facebook. Facebook claimed ownership of my data, even if I deleted my account. Logged in just now to see this message : Facebook reverts back to earlier ToS Its good Mark Zuckerberg to revert [...]...
  5. Facebook’s news feed is inaccurate! : A couple of days ago (May 22nd to be precise), I logged into my facebook account. As I was going through the News Feed on the home page, I noticed this : Look carefully at the news in the red box. It tells me that a guy named Vishal Kharbanda has accepted my invitation to join [...]...

3 Comments

  • Points to Facebook.com here…using Airtel BB…!

    I’m not sure how genuine the .in domain is…lets c…may be they moved the Indian users to some Indian server….like Orkut..!:P

  • [...] Latest Comments » Popular Posts » » Facebook headed for Indian shores! » Is Facebook.in a scam? » Now Maharashtra govt. proves its uselessness » 20 Lakh Uttar Pradesh students flunked [...]

  • @ Harry : Watsup my man?! Its been long! If you’ve used OpenDNS or DNS Advantage, they provide you with this service that you just type in the name of the website, like “yahoo”, hit enter and it will open the required website. I recently noticed that the Airtel DNS servers started behaving the same way and offered this “service”. Say, if I just typed “techcrunch” in the address bar it would open TechCrunch.com instead of giving an error regarding the incorrect URL. Initially, it used to redirect every request to a corressponding .in domain… yahoo.in, google.in etc. But recently it got smarter. But in the case of Facebook, it sent me to facebook.in which is why I got a little worried. Had that website been a fake, I could’ve gotten my account hacked easily (not just FB, my email too).

Post a Comment

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *